Le Jeu de Football Fantastique

PDF Download
trouvailles
 

Races, Équipes & Joueurs

S'élançant vers la célébrité et la gloire derrière leurs Star Players, les équipes de Blood Bowl sont constituées, entraînées et déployées sur les terrains des jungles infestées de serpents de Lustrie aux pics enneigés des Montagnes du Bord du Monde.

Blitzmania
 

Célébrité, or et gloire – des sirènes qui attirent toutes les races hormis les plus timides dans le creuset bouillonnant des stades.

D’innombrables équipes ont représenté leurs races au fil des ans, et de nouvelles équipes se forment tous les jours. Le Blood Bowl est un sport brutal et harassant, et la plupart des carrières sont éphémères. Blessures et décès (sur et en dehors du terrain) sont monnaie courante. Les supporters sont passionnés et intransigeants, et il n’est pas rare de voir des équipes tomber en disgrâce. Les coachs astucieux n’hésitent pas à changer plusieurs fois le nom de leur équipe au cours d’une même saison pour effacer la honte de la défaite. Les autres doivent recruter une toute nouvelle équipe. Des défis aussi variés garantissent que la scène du Blood Bowl est renouvelée en permanence.

Néanmoins, certaines équipes figureront toujours en bonne place dans les annales de l’histoire du Blood Bowl, aussi bref que fût leur passage sous les feux des projecteurs. Que ce soit par une série extraordinaire de touchdowns ou d’actes de violence sur le terrain, leurs noms évoquent désormais le Grand Jeu. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une revue de ces équipes et des célèbres Star Players qui les ont conduites à la victoire.

Blood
Separator line

Profil d’Équipe: Reikland Reavers

Couleurs d'Équipe: Bleu et Blanc

Propriétaire: JJ Griswell Jr

Coach en Chef: Helmut Zwimmer

Stade: L'Oldbowl (71 411 places – surface en astrogranite)

Joueurs: Humains

Palmarès: Vainqueurs du Blood Bowl en 2471 (XI), 2479 (XIX), 2485 (XXV), 2487 (XXVII), 2491 (XXXI). Vainqueurs de la Chaos Cup en 2396, 2399-2405, 2412, 2422-2427, 2448, 2461, 2463 et 2470

Tableau d’Honneur: Walter damm Kempft, Erdrich Holstein, Coach Johann Weisshaupt, Jules Winder

Cote du Magazine L’Épique: 321

Les équipes d’Humains proposent généralement un large éventail de compétences. Cela leur confère une grande polyvalence et leur permet de s’essayer à toutes sortes de tactiques, les rendant assez imprévisibles.

Les Reavers furent fondés il y a plus d’un siècle, en 2389, alors qu’il y avait une concession vacante au sein de la Conférence des Vieilles Terres. Appelée pendant les premières années les Altdorf Acolytes, l’équipe se tailla rapidement une réputation, car le propriétaire d’alors, DD Griswell Senior, engagea les meilleurs joueurs des terres occidentales en les payant grassement. Cette méthode s’avéra très efficace, et reste à ce jour employée par les successeurs de Griswell Senior. L’actuel propriétaire est l’arrière petit-fils de DD Griswell Senior, JJ Griswell Junior, et son équipe est sans aucun doute la meilleure du monde.

Hymne:
“Retourne dans ta Fosse,
Hors de notre vue,
Les Reavers sont trop forts,
Tu sais qu’ c’est peine perdue.”

Précommandez maintenant

Profil d’Équipe: Les Gouged Eye

Couleurs d'Équipe: Rouge et blanc

Propriétaire: Son Énormissime Majesté Gobsuck Skullcrush XII

Coach en Chef: Gort Severlimb

Joueurs: Orques

Palmarès: Vainqueurs de la Chaos Cup en 2441, 2445, 2450, 2451, 2452, 2453, 2454, 2460, 2469, 2473, 2477, 2482 et 2483. Vainqueurs du Blood Bowl en 2464 (IV), 2473 (XIII) et 2495 (XXXIV)

Tableau d’Honneur: Eruk Ogrehack, Bolg Stonemangle, Garg Worm-face

Cote du Magazine L’Épique: 317

Grands, forts et lourdement protégés, la tactique favorite des équipes d’Orques est de tabasser les joueurs adverses jusqu’à ce qu’ils fertilisent le terrain et qu’ils ne puissent plus contester le ballon; marquez des points est une considération secondaire.

Dans la pénombre du Dôme d’la Mort, outre le fait de jouer à domicile, les Orques ont le gros avantage de le faire devant une foule bruyante et belliqueuse, et ils n’hésitent pas à s’en servir pour intimider leurs adversaires. Il se passe la même chose sur la route, car l’équipe voyage avec une véritable Waaagh! de supporters partout où ils vont jouer. Les Gouged Eye se sont progressivement élevés du rang de lanterne rouge à celui des principaux prétendants à la première place. Sous les auspices du grand chef tribal Gobsuck Skullcrush XII et le régime d’entraînement extrêmement sadique de Severlimb, les Gouged Eye ont prospéré, et la violence des exercices transpire dans chacune des tactiques employées par l’équipe – il est rare qu’un match contre les Gouged Eye se termine sans avoir à déplorer de nombreuses éliminations. Même lorsqu’ils se mesurent à des pointures des ligues comme les Reavers, il ne faut pas sous-estimer les Gouged Eye: ils écrasent tout sur leur chemin vers la tête du championnat.

Hymne:
“On é des zorks ça c’est sûr
On aime gueuler on est des durs
On va vous bouffer, vous broyer
Et après on va tous vous krever!
Donnez-moi un G… donnez-moi un
O, donnez-moi un U… (etc.)”

Précommandez maintenant

Profil d’Équipe: Skavenblight Scramblers

Couleurs d’Équipe: Jaune

Propriétaire: La cité de Skavenblight

Coach en Chef: Vytik aux Maintes Têtes

Joueurs: Skavens

Palmarès: Vainqueurs des Blood Bowl 2477 (XVII), 2478 (XVIII) et 2493 (XXXII), vainqueurs de la Coupe du Chaos 2493, Équipe Orcidas de l’Année 2478 et 2493

Panthéon des Joueurs: Tarsh la Main-ferme, Breeet Braingulper, Rasta Tailspike

Cote du Magazine L’Épique: 146 – s’effondre après le désastre des galeries sous le terrain!

Les équipes de Skavens sont très rapides et très sournoises. Si vous en attrapez un, ce qui est déjà un exploit surhumain, vous aurez du mal à le plaquer tant il se débat. Connus pour être les tricheurs les plus inventifs du circuit, ils n’hésitent pas aligner de véritables assassins sur le terrain.

Sortant des plus ignobles égouts du continent, les Skavenblight Scramblers sont la meilleure équipe de Skavens du monde, mettant systématiquement la pilule à leurs plus proches rivaux, les Warphunters. Trois fois vainqueurs du Blood Bowl, leur équipe se caractérise par un perfide mélange de vitesse naturelle des Skavens et de force brute des Rat Ogres. Il y a donc fort à parier que les Scramblers ne tarderont pas à retrouver leur place au sommet. Les équipes de Skavens ne sont jamais à court de supporters – on dirait même parfois qu’ils se faufilent hors des murs – et les Scramblers ont des fans si nombreux et si voraces qu’il faut souvent ajouter des tribunes préfabriquées juste pour les accueillir, et ils laissent rarement un stade en bon état derrière eux.

Hymne:
“Y avait une équipe de Skavenblight,
Qui n’était pas du genre à s’battre,
Qui esquivait les autres joueurs,
Avant d’leur poignarder l’cœur!”

Précommandez maintenant

Blood
 
Blood
Separator line

Profil de Star Player: Mighty Zug

Âge: Inconnu

Taille: 2,15 m

Poids: 162 kg

Poste: Variable

Carrière: 5 touchdowns en course, 266 tués/blessés graves

Titres: 33 titres de Meilleur Joueur. Joueur de l’Année des Spamburgers McMurty en 2482, 2484 et 2485. Trophée du Pire Tacle de l’Année décerné par le Comité d’Anti-violence en 2484 et 2487. Médaille de Blood Bowl en 2479, 2485 et 2487. Médaille des Joueurs de Blood Bowl en 2483

Classement du Magazine L’Épique: 374

Conformément à leur charte, on attend chaque année de la part des Reikland Reavers qu’ils prennent un jeune orphelin comme apprenti. Cette coutume s’est souvent avérée fructueuse: ces jeunes enfants ont grandi à la dure, car ils ont été forcés d’apprendre à se défendre dès le jour de leur naissance. Toutefois, lorsqu’on leur présenta en 2468 un gros dadais maladroit appelé simplement Zug, les Reavers crurent à une mauvaise farce. Il était gras, grand et mou, avec le front bas et une cervelle en conséquence. Évidemment, il était aussi très malheureux, et rendit infernale la vie des autres apprentis à cause de son refus d’obéir.

Zug fit sa tête de mule pendant des mois, jusqu’à ce que le coach Helmut Zwimmer en ait assez et décide de s’occuper de lui personnellement. Zwimmer n’est pas connu pour ses techniques de pédagogie, pourtant il parvint à comprendre la détresse de son élève et à le motiver. Peu à peu, un Zug décomplexé et épanoui commença à s’entraîner avec le reste de l’équipe. Tout le monde se rendit compte que Zwimmer avait accompli là un vrai miracle, car ce nouveau Zug fut une révélation. Sa grande carcasse était animée par une agilité inattendue: Zug était devenu une grosse brute qui savait comment donner des baffes! Zug joua son premier match à l’automne 2476, et affirma sa présence sur le terrain en blessant grièvement huit joueurs de Middenheim dès la première mi-temps. Au fil des ans, il est devenu le chouchou des fans, car ses prestations sont très plaisantes à regarder. Certes, il ne se lance pas dans des actions extravagantes, comme sprinter ou bondir, mais il est passé maître dans l’art de mettre au tapis un adversaire d’un seul revers des gros battoirs qui lui servent de mains. Cette technique lui a d’ailleurs permis d’amasser au fil des ans la plus grosse collection de crocs d’orques au monde.

Profil de Star Player: Varag Ghoul-chewer

Âge: 30

Taille: 1,76 m

Poids: 98 kg

Poste: Blitzer, capitaine

Carrière: 1 042 blitz et 402 passes réussies, 51 touchdowns, 299 victimes

Titres: Orque de l’Année du Magazine Orcworld, Joueur de l’Année 2485 de l’AFC, Médaille de Vainqueur de la Chaos Cup en 2477, 2482 et 2483, Médaille du Blood Bowl de l’année 2478

Classement du Magazine L’Épique: 417

Les stars de Blood Bowl sont aussi nombreuses que variées. Certains fans idolâtrent les joueurs parce qu’ils sont beaux, forts ou charismatiques. D’autres apprécient la finesse de jeu et la tactique, mais tout le monde adore le style du vénérable capitaine des Gouged Eye, Varag Ghoul-Chewer. Son esprit brillant (pour un orque!) et ses accès de violence ont fait de lui une des vedettes préférées du public.

Varag était à l’origine contremaître dans les mines Wolfleg, dans la partie orientale de la Drakwald, mais il fut capturé par des esclavagistes de la tribu des Gouged Eye en 2471. L’année suivante, il fut repéré par le coach de leur équipe de Blood Bowl, le célèbre Gort Severlimb, alors qu’il envoyait à la morgue un autre de ses geôliers. Comprenant l’avantage qu’il aurait à employer un capitaine capable de prendre des décisions, même rudimentaires, Severlimb prit le risque de placer Varag, alors inexpérimenté, à la tête de son équipe en 2474 (de toute façon, l’essentiel des membres de l’équipe avait été massacré par “Axeface” Mangelsson des Vynheim Valkyries l’année précédente).

Ghoul-Chewer se révéla naturellement doué, et en dépit de quelques incidents à cause de punitions trop drastiques qu’il infligea pour insubordination, il est resté à la tête de l’équipe et l’a menée jusqu’au sommet. Il a connu son heure de gloire il y a quelques années, lorsqu’il a emmené son équipe de bleus jusqu’à la victoire d’une seconde Chaos Cup. Depuis, il n’a cessé d’entraîner ses gars, avec pour objectif de remporter le championnat du Blood Bowl!

Profil de Star Player: Griff Oberwald

Âge: 35

Taille: 1,88 m

Poids: 84 kg

Poste: Blitzer, capitaine

Carrière: 65 touchdowns après réception, 96 touchdowns en course, 69 tués/blessés graves, 4 interceptions

Titres: 9 titres de Meilleur Joueur, médaille Bloodweiser du Meilleur Espoir 2484. Joueur de l’Année 2487 de l’AFC. Médaille de Blood Bowl en 2485, 2487 et 2491.

Classement du Magazine L’Épique: 463

Ce n’est pas souvent que le coach des Reikland Reavers, Harry Zwimmer, complimente un être humain, pourtant on raconte que la première fois qu’il vit le jeune Griff Oberwald jouer, il déclara laconiquement: “Ze garzon est brezke au-dessus de la moyenne!” Une telle louange ne fut que la première d’une longue série vouée au jeune homme originaire de Streissen, qui depuis, fait souvent les gros titres: “Le Divin Griff!” (Magazine L’Épique!), “Bon sang, quel joueur!” (Le Middenheim Mirror) et “Le plus grand don fait à notre profession depuis que Morg ‘N’ Thorg arracha sa première tête de gobelin lors de la Chaos Cup.” (La Gazette du Fossoyeur).

Oberwald attira l’attention des fans des Reavers lors de son premier match à la fin de l’année 2483, au cours duquel ses tacles féroces lui valurent une collection de trois oreilles et un nez, ainsi qu’une suspension pour les deux matchs suivants. Sans se laisser abattre par ce contretemps mineur, Griff se tailla une place d’honneur au sein des Reavers, tout en étant en compétition permanente avec son cousin germain et capitaine d’équipe Orlak Sturmdrang. Une excellente seconde saison avec les Reavers lui valut la médaille du Meilleur Espoir, et se termina en apothéose lorsqu’il marqua le touchdown décisif contre les Darkside Cowboys au cours de cette déroute monumentale que fut le Blood Bowl XXV.

Oberwald est le parangon de la star de Blood Bowl. Il est grand, racé et musclé, doté d’une agilité et d’une coordination qui font passer les autres joueurs pour des brutes pataudes. Instantanément reconnaissable à son maillot immaculé (en dehors du sang de ses adversaires) même sur un terrain détrempé par la pluie, il n’est pas étonnant que les filles se mettent à crier hystériquement dès qu’il a le ballon en main. Oberwald devint capitaine au début de la saison 2487 et imprima immédiatement son style à son équipe, la poussant à se dépasser pour obtenir des résultats toujours plus impressionnants. Les Reikland Reavers finirent une nouvelle fois l’année en tant que champions de Blood Bowl, Oberwald étant élu pour sa part Joueur de l’Année de l’AFC. Depuis, il n’a cessé de s’améliorer, jusqu’à devenir un des joueurs les plus respectés (et les plus craints) au monde.

Profil de Star Player: Morg ‘N’ Thorg “L’Onagre”

Âge: Inconnu

Taille: 2,58 m

Poids: 278 kg

Poste: Blocker, capitaine

Carrière: 42 touchdowns en passe. 43 touchdowns en course. 512 tués/blessés graves

Titres: 46 titres de Meilleur Joueur. Membre d’honneur du Service de Dons d’Organes en 2479 et 2491. Trophée du Pire Tacle de l’Année décerné par le Comité d’Anti-violence en 2479, 2480, 2485, 2486, 2491. Joueur de l’année de la NFC en 2485. Médaille de Vainqueur de la Chaos Cup en 2471 et 2487

Classement du Magazine L’Épique: 685

En dépit de leurs rites étranges nimbés de sorcellerie, les Chaos All-Stars sont très populaires. C’est dû en grande partie à leur énorme bloqueur ogre Morg ‘N’ Thorg. Morg, ou “l’Onagre” ainsi qu’il a été nommé par des commentateurs taquins, est un monstre de destruction. Sa grosse tête au crâne rasé et aux crocs proéminents lui donne un air terrifiant, mais en dehors du terrain, il est doux comme un agneau et les enfants l’adorent. Grâce à ses diverses campagnes publicitaires, il a permis de diminuer de 25% les accidents de la route, et il est sans conteste le plus gros vendeur de papier toilette de l’histoire!

En revanche, sur le terrain, l’accident à redouter, c’est Morg, et ses victimes pourraient remplir la rubrique des chiens écrasés d’un quotidien. Ses tactiques sont aussi simples qu’efficaces, et consistent à piétiner les joueurs adverses pour aller marquer, à taper sur tous ceux qui passent à sa portée, ou encore à mettre le ballon dans les mains d’un de ses équipiers gobelins avant de le lancer dans la zone d’en-but!

Les biographes ne sont pas certains des origines de Morg. On raconte qu’il se présenta un jour à une session d’entraînement et qu’il signa le contrat qu’on lui mit sous le nez. Quoi qu’il en soit, il s’est naturellement adapté au style de jeu des Chaos All-Stars en se montrant à la fois rusé et cruel, tout en jouissant d’un physique brutal et repoussant. Morg a toujours fait preuve de réserve à propos de sa vie privée auprès des reporters sportifs, ne montrant que sa timidité aux plus insistants d’entre eux. Il est à noter que Morg est le seul joueur de l’histoire à avoir rejoint le Mémorial du Blood Bowl avant même de prendre sa retraite.

Blood
 
Close

the game of fantasy football

PDF Download
League Buy Online
 

Races, Teams & Players

Charging to fame and glory behind their Star Players, Blood Bowl teams are drafted, drilled and deployed onto pitches from the snake-infested jungles of Lustria to the ice-capped peaks of the Worlds Edge Mountains.

Blitzmania
 

Fame, glory and gold – tempting sirens that have called all but the most timid of races to the violent grind of the gridiron.

Countless teams have represented the various races over the years, and even today, new teams are formed every year. Blood Bowl is a brutal, unforgiving sport and most careers are short lived. Injuries and deaths (both on and off the pitch) fast take their toll. Blood Bowl fans are a passionate, unforgiving lot and it’s not uncommon for teams to fall out of favour. A canny coach might change the name of his team multiple times in a single season to hide from the shame of a defeat. Others are forced to recruit a new team altogether. Such a diverse array of challenges ensures the Blood Bowl landscape is always changing with the times.

Some teams though, however brief their time in the spotlight, will always be remembered in the annals of Blood Bowl history. Whether by virtue of glorious touchdowns or on-pitch violence, their names are now synonymous with the Great Game. Below, you’ll find a brief overview of those teams, and a look at some of the infamous Star Players who led them to victory.

Blood
Separator line

Team Profile: Reikland Reavers

Team Colours:  Blue and white

Owner: JJ Griswell Jr

Head Coach: Helmut Zwimmer

Home Stadium: The Oldbowl (capacity 71,411 – surface astrogranite)

Players: Humans

Team Honours: Blood Bowl Winners: 2471 (XL), 2479 (XIX), 2485 (XXV), 2487 (XXVII), 2491 (XXXI).

Hall of Fame Players: Walter damm Kempft, Erdrich Holstein, Coach Johann Weisshaupt, Jules Winder

Spike! Magazine Team Rating: 321

Human teams tend to have a well-rounded skill set. This grants them a degree of versatility that means they can attempt any sort of play and are almost impossible to predict.

The Reikland Reavers were formed over a century ago, in 2389, when a vacant franchise came up in what was then the Oldlands Conference. Known during their first few years as the Altdorf Acolytes, the team quickly established their reputation for great skill and ability, as original owner DD Griswell Snr poached and bought up the best players throughout the western lands. This policy of marrying awesome buying power with the best skill money can buy has seen the Reavers in good stead throughout their long life. Today, under DD’s great-grandson JJ Griswell Jr, the Reavers are probably the finest all-round team in the known world.

Chant: 
“Get back in your Dugout,
Get out of our sight,
You can’t beat the Reavers,
Don’t bother to fight.”

Team Profile: The Gouged Eye

Team Colours: Red and white

Owner: His Most Grossest Majesty Gobsuck Skullcrush XII

Head Coach: Gort Severlimb

Home Stadium: The Doom Bowl

Players: Orcs

Team Honours: Chaos Cup winners 2441, 2445, 2450, 2451, 2452, 2453, 2454, 2460, 2469, 2473, 2477, 2482, 2483. Blood Bowl Winners 2464 (IV), 2473 (XIII), 2495 (XXXIV)

Hall of Fame Players: Eruk Ogrehack, Bolg Stonemangle, Garg Worm-face

Spike! Magazine Team Rating: 317

Big, strong and heavily armoured, Orc teams’ preferred tactic is to mangle the opposing players until they litter the pitch and can no longer contest the ball – scoring points is a secondary concern.

Under the dismal, dingy lights of the Doom Dome, the Orcs play with a powerful home-field advantage, and they are all too happy to use their loud, belligerent crowds to intimidate their opponents. This is also true on the road, as the team travels with a veritable Waaagh! of fans wherever they play. The Gouged Eye has risen steadily from its years as a laughing stock, and are now chief contenders for the top spot. Under the auspices of tribal overlord Gobsuck Skullcrush XII and the extremely sadistic training methods of Severlimb, the Gouged Eye have thrived, and the cycle of violence dolled out in training can be seen in every play the team makes – it’s a rare match against the Gouged Eye that doesn’t end with numerous casualties. Even when measured against consistent league winners like the Reavers, the Gouged Eye are not to be underestimated – they are steamrolling their way to a championship and wont be stopped.

Team Chant:
“We are Orcs and dat’s no lie
We’ll make yoo screem an’ make yoo cry
We’ll pull yore hair an’ pinch yore thigh
An’ if dat don’t work, we’ll gouge your eye!
Gissa G, gissa O, gissa W, gissa J… (etc)”

Team Profile: Skavenblight Scramblers

Team Colours: Yellow (home); Black, green and gold (away)

Owner: The city of Skavenblight

Head Coach: Vytik the Many Headed

Home Stadium: Uncertain - Negotiations Ongoing

Players: Skaven

Team Honours: Blood Bowl Winners 2477 (XVII), 2478 (XVIII), 2493 (XXXII); Chaos Cup Winners 2493; Orcidas Team of the Year 2478, 2493

Hall of Fame: Tarsh Surehands, Breeet Braingulper, Rasta Tailspike

Spike! Magazine Rating: 146 – it plummeted after the tunnelling disaster!

Skaven teams are very fast and very sneaky. If you can catch one of them, a superhuman feat to be sure, they struggle to take a hit. Known for being the most prolific cheaters in the game, some of their players are proficient assassins.

Rising from the foulest sewers of the land, the Skavenblight Scramblers are the world’s premier Skaven team, consistently beating out their nearest rivals, the Warphunters. Three times winners of the Blood Bowl, the team possesses a vicious mixture of the natural speed of the Skaven and the brutal raw power of its Rat Ogres. It can only be a matter of time before the Scramblers reach the top again. Skaven teams have never been short of fans – they seem to crawl out of the very walls sometimes – and the Scramblers have such numerous and ravenous fans that their games often need temporary ad-hoc seating arrangements to accommodate them, and they almost never leave a stadium un-damaged after they go.

Chant:
“There was a team from Skavenblight,
They didn’t like to stand and fight,
They dodged around the other team
Then stabbed ’em up and made ’em scream!”

Team Profile: The Dwarf Giants

Team Colours: Blue and Gold

Owner: Thorn Durinsgold III

Head Coach: Gudrun Wolfric

Players: Dwarfs

Team Honours: Blood Bowl Winners 2462 (II), 2484 (XXIV); Orcidas Team of the Year 2484

Hall of Fame: Durgul ‘the Killer’ Hilliman, Coach Farakhan Karrag, Varak Varaksson

Spike! Magazine Rating: 289 points

The Giants are an old team with a very long and distinguished history. They were one of Roze-El’s original Blood Bowl sects, and they have been present for every major development in the game’s history. In more recent times, thanks to the motivation of team owner and patron King Durinsgold, they have consolidated their talents and re- launched themselves into the fullymodernised, up-to-the-minute, high-tech Blood Bowl game of today. In more modern times, the Giants have consolidated their skills with typical Dwarf patience. Under the tuition of youthful new coach Wolfric, and the inspired (and some would say quite crazy) captaincy of Grimwold Grimbreath (‘the Helmsmasher’!), the team are regularly setting new records for fatalities and touchdowns alike.

Team Profile: The Lowdown Rats

Team Colours: Black and purple

Owner / Head Coach: Boz Blacklung

Players: Goblins, Trolls

Team Honours: None

Hall or Fame: Figgit Spleenpuncher, Norgit No-nose, Dug ‘Elbows’ Snitchit

Spike! Magazine Team Rating: 47 points

The Lowdown Rats are one of the least successful famous teams, with an astounding loss streak of 247 games. Their playbook is legendary – every play is some variant on ‘hit the other team until they fall over, then hit them some more’.

‘Famous’ is a word that implies a level of prestige, and as such it’s not normally associated with Goblin teams. However, the Lowdown Rats definitely have a certain… erm… notoriety.

They approach Blood Bowl in the same way that a pack of mangy wolves might approach a tasty-looking thundertusk – with sneakiness, ferocity and relentless optimism. Their fans are a loyal bunch, who have stuck with the team through thick and thin, and live in endless hope that one day they might win a game.

Blood
 
Blood
Separator line

Star Player Spotlight: Mighty Zug

Age: Unknown

Height: 7 ft 2 in

Weight: 325 lbs

Position: Anywhere he likes

Career Totals: 5 rushing touchdowns, 266 kills/serious injuries inflicted

Awards: 33 Most Valuable Player Awards. McMurty’s Spamburgers Footballer of the Year 2482, 2484, 2485. Anti-violence Watchdog Committee Worst Tackle of the Year 2484, 2487. Blood Bowl Winners Medal 2479, 2485, 2487. Blood Bowl Players Medal 2483

Spike! Magazine Star Player Rating: 374

Under an ancient charter, each year the Reikland Reavers are beholden to take on a young orphan as an apprentice. This practice has often paid off, as most of the young foundlings have grown up to be real tough cookies who’d bite an Orc’s leg off as soon as tackle him. However, when in 2468 a hulking great, useless, whimpering lump known only as Zug arrived as that year’s selection, the Reavers suspected they’d been sold a dummy. He was huge, overweight and unfit, ugly, brutish and apparently very stupid. As a result, he was also very unhappy and made life a living hell for the rest of the apprentices with his uncooperative behaviour.

After several months of nonsense from the mountainous lump, head coach Helmut Zwimmer could stand the disruption no longer and decided to take Zug in hand. Zwimmer has never been known for his gentle approach to coaching, and gradually he managed to penetrate the clouds surrounding his pupil’s brain. A new, happier Zug began training with the rest of the team, and everyone soon realised just what an achievement their head coach had made, for the new Zug was a revelation. His immense bulk was offset by a very skilful co-ordination; this guy had size and strength, and he knew what to do with them! Zug played his first game for the Reavers’ first team in the autumn of 2476, and succeeded in making his presence felt by severely injuring eight Middenheim players in the first half. Over the years, he has become a firm favourite with the fans, for he can be a most exhilarating player to watch. Sure, he doesn’t do all the fancy stuff – he rarely breaks out of a walk, for example, but he’s an expert at incapacitating an opponent with a simple backhand swipe of one of his great paws. One interesting result of this technique is that he has the largest collection of Orc teeth in the world.

Star Player Spotlight: Varag Ghoul-chewer

Age: 30

Height: 5 ft 2 in

Weight: 188 lbs

Position: Blitzer; team captain

Career Totals: Rushing 1,042 paces, passing 402 paces, 51 touchdowns, 299 fatalities

Awards: Orcworld Magazine Orc of the Year, AFC Player of the Year 2485, Chaos Cup Winners Medal 2477, 2482, 2483, Blood Bowl Players Medal 2478

Spike! Magazine Star Player Rating: 417

Major Blood Bowl stars come in all shapes and sizes. Some fans idolise players because they are handsome, or strong or very charismatic. Others, though, actually notice and appreciate good tactical playing, and a majority are great fans of long-serving Gouged Eye captain, Varag Ghoul-Chewer. Varag’s unusually tactical brain (for an Orc!) and his violent playing style has ensured him a good-sized crowd of rabid fans.

Varag was originally a foreman at the Wolfleg lead mines in eastern Drakwald, but was captured by slavers from the rival Gouged Eye tribe in 2471. The following year he was spotted by the coach of their Blood Bowl team, the celebrated Gort Sever-limb, while he was putting one of his captors on the critical list. Quickly recognizing the potential playing advantages of having a player who could make a few rudimentary decisions, Coach Sever-limb took a tremendous chance and put the inexperienced Varag at the head of his 2474 Eye team (most of the 2473 Eye team had been massacred by ‘Axeface’ Mangelsson of the Vynheim Valkyries the year before).

Ghoul-Chewer was an instant hit, and despite a few complications involving some over-drastic punishments for player insubordination, has remained at the head of the increasingly-successful Gouged Eye team. His finest hour so far was leading his team of young braves to a second Chaos Cup win a few years ago. Now, he has set his sights on moulding a team worthy of winning the Blood Bowl Championship too!

Star Player Spotlight: Griff Oberwald

Age: 35

Height: 6 ft 4 in

Weight: 168 lbs

Position: Blitzer; team captain

Career Totals: 65 catching touchdowns, 96 rushing touchdowns, 69 kills/serious injuries inflicted, 4 interceptions

Awards: 9 Most Valuable Player Awards, Bloodweiser Best Newcomer Medal 2484. AFC Player of the Year 2487. Blood Bowl Winners Medal 2485, 2487, 2491.

Spike! Magazine Star Player Rating: 463 points

It isn’t often that head coach of the Reikland Reavers, Harry Zwimmer, has a nice word to say about any other human being, but it is recorded that when he first saw the young Griff Oberwald play, he actually declared, “Zat boy is almost above average!” Such immense praise from the tight-lipped coach was only the first in a great many compliments paid to the young superstar from Streissen, who has since been called, “Griff the godlike!” (Spike! magazine), “Phew! What a scorer!” (Middenheim Mirror) and “The greatest single gift to our profession since Morg ‘N’ Thorg first bit a Goblin’s head off in the Chaos Cup!” (Undertaker’s Gazette).

The young Oberwald came to the attention of Reavers fans in his first game for the team at the end of 2483, in which his ferocious tackle play garnered him three ears, a nose and a two-match suspension. Undaunted by this minor set-back, Griff gained a permanent place in the Reavers first team, where he battled his way through the lines alongside his halfcousin and team captain Orlak Sturmdrang. A quite remarkable second season for the Reavers earned him a precious Best Newcomer medal, and culminated in his scoring the winning touchdown against the Darkside Cowboys in the full-scale rout that was Blood Bowl XXV.

Oberwald’s qualities are those of the classic Blood Bowl hero. He’s tall, superfit and strong, with a grace and co-ordination that can leave most other players standing. Instantly recognisable across a murky Blood Bowl field by the splattering of gore across his kit, Oberwald cuts a very dashing figure and it’s no surprise the girls go wild when he has the ball in his capable hands. Oberwald became team captain at the start of the ’87 season and immediately made his mark on the team, driving them harder than ever with startling results. Reikland finished the year as Blood Bowl champions yet again, and Oberwald was voted AFC Player of the Year. Since then Griff has gone from strength to strength, and is now one of the most respected (and feared!) Blood Bowl players in the world.

Star Player Spotlight: Morg ‘N’ Thorg ‘The Ballista’

Age: Unknown

Height: 7 ft 11 in

Weight: 390 lbs

Position: Blocker; team captain

Career Totals: 42 passing touchdowns. 43 rushing touchdowns, 512 kills/serious injuries inflicted

Awards: 46 Most Valuable Player Awards. Services to Organ Transplants Medal 2479, 2491. Anti-violence Watchdog Committee Worst Tackle of the Year 2479, 2480, 2485, 2486, 2491. NFC Player of the Year 2485. Chaos Cup Winners Medal 2471, 2487

Spike! Magazine Star Player Rating: 685

For all their bizarre magic and weird rites, the Chaos All-Stars are very popular with the Blood Bowl-watching public. This popularity is due, at least in part, to the success of their hulk-like Ogre Blocker, Morg ‘N’ Thorg. Morg, or ‘The Ballista’ as tongue-tied commentators have nicknamed him, is a huge, lumbering juggernaut of a player. With his half-shaven head and grim, tusky visage, he looks very frightening, but off the field he’s as gentle as a lamb and a great hit with children. As a result of his award-winning series of road safety adverts, accidents have been cut by more than a quarter, and he’s sold more soft toilet paper than anyone in history!

On the Blood Bowl field, though, Morg is the accident; at least, he always leaves the objects of his tackles looking like they’ve been in a road smash! His play tactics are effective in their simplicity – either he bludgeons his way through the opposition and scores, trampling everyone in his way; or he gives the ball to one of his Goblin team-mates and throws them into the end zone to score!

Club historians still aren’t quite sure where Morg came from; legend has always had it that he simply walked into a practice session one day and signed himself up. Wherever he came from, he was a natural Chaos All-Stars player, being both calculating and cruel, and blessed with a brutal-looking exterior. He’s always been very shy of revealing details of his personal history to sports reporters, and has been known to demonstrate his shyness to the more irritating of them. Incidentally, Morg is the only player in the history of the game to be elected to the Hall of Fame before he has retired from the game.

Star Player Spotlight: Grim Ironjaw

Age: 306

Height: 5 ft 2 in

Weight: 162 lbs

Position: Troll Slayer

Career Totals: 3 rushing touchdowns, 102 kills/serious injuries

Awards: Spike! Magazine’s Anger Management Award 2392, Most Brutal Outburst 2436, Lauriel Elflock’s Fabulous Follicles Award 2469 (refused to accept)

Spike! Magazine Star Player Rating: 318

The Slayer Cult is a strange but well-documented aspect of life for a Dwarf, seen as the only option for those who have committed a shameful act. Shedding their worldly possessions and symbolically greasing their hair with pig fat, these contrite Dwarfs seek only a pure death in combat against the most terrifying foes imaginable. Traditionally, they had sought their fate on the battlefield, but all of that changed when Grim Ironjaw joined the Black Mountain Blades. In retrospect, it’s difficult to believe that it took as long as it did for a Slayer to take to the Blood Bowl pitch. Where better to seek a glorious death than in an arena surrounded by baying fans, where a team of hulking brutes are doing their very best to break your bones? The Blades were a particularly well-suited team, one of the few non-Orc teams in the Thunder Valley League, and Ironjaw regularly came face to face with snarling Trolls and fearsome Black Orcs.

As news spread of his prowess, ever more Slayers began to seek out the game, resulting in the current state of play where most Dwarf teams boast one or two of these doom-crazed maniacs. Following a successful first season, Ironjaw spent several years moving from team to team, always striving to move up in the league rankings. After all, as he saw it, the most glorious death to be found on the pitch must surely be at the Blood Bowl itself, facing off against one of the NAF’s most accomplished teams. In the years since, he has yet to compete in the fabled tournament, but with each passing season, his chances are greater and his legend grows ever more impressive. Who knows – maybe this is his year!

Blood
 
Close